Winds of Destiny – 4 books for a brand new, epic fantasy series

Actually, there will be two series, Winds of Destiny and Pillars of the Empire. That’s because each of my characters grows up in a “House”, which is made up of four Winds (South, West, East and North), and four elemental mages, the Pillars (Moon, Sun, Sky and Earth).

In each of the books, we’ll follow a new character but some of them do meet up with others in their stories, and they will all team up in a final book where they change the world.

In addition, I’m mulling ideas for a prequel short story, and will let you know how that goes. It may have a prophecy mentioning the Winds of Destiny and the Pillars of the Empire.

For now, I give you the…

Winds of Destiny

This series will have four books (and they are already written). It starts out with South, then switches to West (who meets South), goes on with East (who meets both of them), and then finally follows North (who ends up in a place where East was earlier).

South Breaks

Winds of Destiny Book 1 - South Breaks

South’s days are numbered.

After serving and protecting the Holy Empire for twenty-five years, she is facing the ultimate sacrifice, giving up her life on the top of a pyramid.

Fate intervenes in the shape of a nameless guide, a clever mule and a rockfall.

Soon, South’s mind is reeling from all she is learning about herself and her powers. Dealing with loss while building a new life, she has to risk everything she gained to save someone else.

When I started writing this story, I had no idea of how huge this world would get and how many people I’d find to love in it.

What people say:
Steenbock weaves the details of a complex world into the simple story of one woman’s rescue from certain death, and develops a family story so engrossing you won’t be able to tear yourself away!
The opening chapter was… unusual, but I stuck with it, and soon I couldn’t stop reading. The ending came too soon and I want more tales of South’s new life! The writing is smooth, the adventure is riveting, and I found zero errors — a rarity in my experience!

(Amazon Review)

Unboxing Video (on YouTube)

Blog post: What does the symbol on the cover mean?

Release Date: July 1st 2022

Get book 1 of the Winds of Destiny through these links:
Amazon | Apple | Google | All stores | Print

West Flows

Cover for West Flows, Winds of Destiny Book 2

West is lost in a world he doesn’t understand.

When West Whale realizes he is not willing to give his life as a Sacrifice for the Holy Empire, he discovers a set of powers he never knew he had. Fleeing the evil Priests, he seeks out the one person he knows who might help him develop his potential.

They kick him out instead.

Forced to rely on his new abilities and what little he knows of the world, West embarks on a dangerous quest to prove himself worthy. Can he avoid being noticed and captured by the Priests? Can he protect the new friends he makes?

And most of all, can he save the life of his newfound love?

West might be my favorite character in the Winds of Destiny, closely followed by East. (Don’t tell them I said that, though.)

Release Day: September 10th, 2022.

Get book 2 of the Winds of Destiny through these links:
Amazon | Apple | Google | All Stores | Print

East Roars

East Roars, cover

Just like West, East Lion does not want to die.

Unlike West, however, he does actually ascend to the place of his death, only to change his mind at the last minute. Pulling on his power, he jumps into the abyss in desperation – and has to learn how to survive in a world he doesn’t know at all.

I love this guy. He’s strong and yet, what people do to him almost breaks him. Only someone supporting him in secret enables him to survive…

Release Day: November 10th, 2022

Find book 3 of the Winds of Destiny through these links:
Amazon | Apple | Google | All Stores | Print

North Shatters

North is different. She’s meek, resigned to her fate and freshly in love with the Priest assigned to her on her journey to her death. When he flees the Empire with her, she’s both surprised and bewildered.

Things are not as simple as they seem, however, and surviving winter in the snow and ice of the north is not easy, either. North discovers many strange things and makes new friends… but nothing good ever lasts long. Or so she thinks.

Release Day: February 12th, 2023

Print is coming soon. Still waiting for the cover.

Grab book 4 of the Winds of Destiny using these links:
Amazon | Apple | Google | All Stores | Print

Pillars of the Empire

This series continues the tale started in the Winds of Destiny.

The next five books will belong to this series, and they will be about Earth (and East), Sky, Sun and Moon. Of course, they will also meet with the characters of the Winds of Destiny.

I still have to write these, and although I have some ideas, it will be fun to find out how they go. I also cannot wait to get to know these people, this is always the best part of writing a new story.

Join my FB group or sign up for my newsletter so you won’t miss any releases in these series.